Old St Kilda – Melbourne

The world famous Coffee Palace Backpackers - home for 6 months in 1997

The world famous Coffee Palace Backpackers - home for 6 months in 1997

Another trip to Melbourne for some meetings, and this time I had chance to go back to St Kilda, where I worked in a restaurant as a barman 13 years ago – yes – I am so OLD.

St Kilda is a cool, trendy beachside suburb with a bunch of restaurants and bars. It had quite a lot of new stuff there since 1997, but still remained pretty much the same. It’s a bit rough around the edges and is famous for it’s cake shops.

I was mostly working (6 evenings a week) or drunk (1 entire day a week) the time I was there, so didn’t get out and about that much. Visiting again, it wasn’t as brilliant as I remember it – nostalgia Eh!

The owners of the restaurant I worked in had sold it 5 years ago, but went in and had a beer in there for old times sake.

When I lived in Melbourne I was brainwashed by Melbournites that Sydney sucked and that Melbourne was the best. This time round, I think I may have  swapped sides..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Places. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

